Tribute

The History Channel has recently been running tribute specials on famous female stars, and as I type a biography of Bette Middler is ending. I’m not sure if it’s all tributes, only specific individuals, or those tributes that are particularly well-crafted, but there is something very moving in watching a person’s highs and lows summarized, commented on, and conveyed in a 2 hr television program.

If it were only this easy for us to see our own lives in similar fashion…I think I finally have a deep understanding of how powerful and therapeutic writing our own biographies or obituaries can be – techniques I learned and then used as a counselor, but perhaps never really “got”…

Watching the persistence, dedication, energy, talent, creativity, honesty, enthusiasm, drive and success of Bette Middler really had an impact on me.

Dear Bette – wherever you are, this first blog entry is dedicated to you and your accomplishments as a performer and humanitarian. Thanks for shining so brightly and sharing your passion with me.

Tribute

The History Channel has recently been running tribute specials on famous female stars, and as I type a biography of Bette Middler is ending. I’m not sure if it’s all tributes, only specific individuals, or those tributes that are particularly well-crafted, but there is something very moving in watching a person’s highs and lows summarized, commented on, and conveyed in a 2 hr television program.

If it were only this easy for us to see our own lives in similar fashion…I think I finally have a deep understanding of how powerful and therapeutic writing our own biographies or obituaries can be – techniques I learned and then used as a counselor, but perhaps never really “got”…

Watching the persistence, dedication, energy, talent, creativity, honesty, enthusiasm, drive and success of Bette Middler really had an impact on me.

Dear Bette – wherever you are, this first blog entry is dedicated to you and your accomplishments as a performer and humanitarian. Thanks for shining so brightly and sharing your passion with me.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    I have been humming some of her songs lately. (and yet I don’t own any of her albums or CDs) She is one incredible woman. “Beaches” is still one of my favorite movies.

Leave a Reply

