Passion

on

In my recent New Year email to friends and family, I wished everyone a year of peace and passion.

Why passion?

When I studied classical voice and the time came for me to make a decision to immerse myself in training, I decided not to. There were so many paths to choose from – how could I dedicate myself to just one? My mother’s theory was that I just didn’t have the passion, or perhaps she used the word “dedication”, but I now see that it’s hard to have one without the other.

Now when I think of passion, a multitude of ideas come to mind. Perhaps most appropriate to my life, due to my passion for the theater, is the masterwork by Stephen Sondheim – 1994’s “PASSION”. Though the musical was about passion of another sorts, the musical illustrated that passion and dedication, combined with both talent and the ability to flow (Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi ) can lead to magnificent creations.

So what I wish for those closest to me, well, everyone really, is to be able to pursue a passion, to find their own rhythm, to find that dedication can come easily, to feel productive, to experience the flow…to be able to live passionately, love passionately and fulfill their potentials as compassionate human beings.

Passion

on

In my recent New Year email to friends and family, I wished everyone a year of peace and passion.

Why passion?

When I studied classical voice and the time came for me to make a decision to immerse myself in training, I decided not to. There were so many paths to choose from – how could I dedicate myself to just one? My mother’s theory was that I just didn’t have the passion, or perhaps she used the word “dedication”, but I now see that it’s hard to have one without the other.

Now when I think of passion, a multitude of ideas come to mind. Perhaps most appropriate to my life, due to my passion for the theater, is the masterwork by Stephen Sondheim – 1994’s “PASSION”. Though the musical was about passion of another sorts, the musical illustrated that passion and dedication, combined with both talent and the ability to flow (Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi ) can lead to magnificent creations.

So what I wish for those closest to me, well, everyone really, is to be able to pursue a passion, to find their own rhythm, to find that dedication can come easily, to feel productive, to experience the flow…to be able to live passionately, love passionately and fulfill their potentials as compassionate human beings.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Justin says:

    Passion? Ive read this post about 5 times now and everytime it has made me think. Its made me realize something I have been neglecting, I dont have a damn clue what I REALLY want to do with my life. Thank the divine that I still have one year of high school left so that I can use it as the excuse to my college professors when I explain to them that the reason Im taking everything from biology to american government is not because I am required to but simply because I am not really sure if I’d rath go into medicine or law. I have been asking myself what I would rather be doing 20 years from now and I cant even arrive at an answer. So here is to all of us (someday) discovering our passion.

  2. Kim says:

    I just read a beautiful verse today from Bertolt Brecht, it was in class in my Deutschkurs (German lessons). The name of it is “Vergnügungen”I recently wished people in my life, “Love, Joy, Peace and Happiness”And I just came across this in your archive.

Leave a Reply

