Re-Connection

on



2005 will be remembered as the year of re-connection. No less than 25 people from my past re-surfaced this year. Some I’ve known since I was 6, others were friends in summer camp, middle school and college. The fact that all of these people should come back into my life within months of each other is a bit startling. Some I’ve searched for, some searched for me, and yet others’ contact information seemed to just fall in my lap. Some who I’ve tried to contact have been unreachable, and some who I’ve contacted will probably disappear again, the ties that once bound us together, no longer effective.

When I think about why some of these people disappeared from view, I think about my 20’s – a tumultuous time of disappointment, struggle, confusion, and exploration. More to the point – a time when I had enough of a challenge just hanging onto my self, let alone old friends.

One of the nicest surprises of connection is the chance to live the old saying that a friend is someone with whom a relationship can be easily re-kindled as if separation had never happened. Surreal is the best word that comes to mind as I found myself speaking with someone I hadn’t talked with in nearly 15 years. Echoes of who I was at that point in my life rang through and I felt the desire to show just how different I now am. Yet, how can I summarize 15 years of highs and lows?

Now the challenge of re-connection presents itself and the dawning realization that it actually might not occur with some, and the mystery of just how similar some of us are (despite years of change, not to our young selves, but how similar our paths have been and how similar we now are to each other) becomes the biggest surprise.

Re-Connection

on



2005 will be remembered as the year of re-connection. No less than 25 people from my past re-surfaced this year. Some I’ve known since I was 6, others were friends in summer camp, middle school and college. The fact that all of these people should come back into my life within months of each other is a bit startling. Some I’ve searched for, some searched for me, and yet others’ contact information seemed to just fall in my lap. Some who I’ve tried to contact have been unreachable, and some who I’ve contacted will probably disappear again, the ties that once bound us together, no longer effective.

When I think about why some of these people disappeared from view, I think about my 20’s – a tumultuous time of disappointment, struggle, confusion, and exploration. More to the point – a time when I had enough of a challenge just hanging onto my self, let alone old friends.

One of the nicest surprises of connection is the chance to live the old saying that a friend is someone with whom a relationship can be easily re-kindled as if separation had never happened. Surreal is the best word that comes to mind as I found myself speaking with someone I hadn’t talked with in nearly 15 years. Echoes of who I was at that point in my life rang through and I felt the desire to show just how different I now am. Yet, how can I summarize 15 years of highs and lows?

Now the challenge of re-connection presents itself and the dawning realization that it actually might not occur with some, and the mystery of just how similar some of us are (despite years of change, not to our young selves, but how similar our paths have been and how similar we now are to each other) becomes the biggest surprise.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Justin says:

    While my situation is not even close to yours, I know what you mean. Im 17 now an within the next 2 months will finally be a legal adult. Up until last February, I lived in the Tri-City area of Michigan (now Im in a small town in Ohio). To the point, I recently (well, December, geez I hate to admit it has been that long) I called up all of my old friends and told them to meet me at our old hangout–the mall. I can say everything went better than I had planned, friends of mine who haddent talked since I moved easily got along and conversation flowed. But I was also surprised at how much we had all truly changed in the last two years. And now with a possible move to Dallas on the horizon, I now, more than ever, want to get everyone back together one more time.After all, after next year, even they wont be in the same area anymore and I may never see them again. I just hope they are ready for me and my trusted Kouros (^_^) because I dont plan on simply letting them forget me anytime soon.

  2. gooderin says:

    Love the post. I know exactly what you are talking about. And I am with you on your view of your 20s. I will be 30 in 2008, but I am already looking forward to that new decade of my life. I totally think that the 30s are the new 20s. At least I hope so for my sake!

Leave a Reply

