Soundtrack


Tonight it’s my turn to not be able to sleep. The weather has changed; the nights are no longer cold, the second blanket is no longer needed, and though I’m considering opening the window, there is no breeze. Instead I sing. This change in temperature seems the perfect way to mark the beginning of the end, each day bringing a new sense of emptiness and oddity, a life seemingly dissipates, recessing into the folds of the past.

Ten pounds gained and a heart emptied, April 3rd draws nearer and the months that follow pile up with plans. Time that was once so seemingly lifeless now begins to take shape into a schedule, a place to be, hoops appear. And I sing.

I was a free man in Paris, I felt unfettered and alive…

Waiting to be born again, I sing to soothe my journey. I sing and sometimes sigh. I’ve said goodbye, and not said goodbye, and strangely enough I’ve also said hello. And I sing. Boxes appear and suitcases open. And I sing.

Hit the road Jack, and don’tcha come back…

15 pounds on and the drawers are now barren. A plate breaks and I sing. A soul crosses, another fights, and I’m reminded that this day cannot be relived. And I sing.

I am changing…

I’m bewildered by new lights and I’m finally feeling the fear knowing that I have to change my gaze from the old. And I sing. I draw deep breath and climb the scale, reaching for new heights. I tumble and drop, scoop and soar and I’m reminded that I’m alive. Each song becomes the soundtrack to these days of transition and flow. I’m bewildered and yes, still, I sing. Dustballs and plastic bags are my audience.

I’ve been so many places in my life and time…


17 pounds on and no cigarettes…but plenty of wine. I sit waiting, not moving much, for my shoulders each carry an elephant. But still I push and I roar with two lungs and a torso of muscle and 17 extra pounds. I sing my hymns.h

These vagabond shoes, are longing to stray…

…and my own voice creates the soundtrack of goodbye.


Soundtrack


Tonight it’s my turn to not be able to sleep. The weather has changed; the nights are no longer cold, the second blanket is no longer needed, and though I’m considering opening the window, there is no breeze. Instead I sing. This change in temperature seems the perfect way to mark the beginning of the end, each day bringing a new sense of emptiness and oddity, a life seemingly dissipates, recessing into the folds of the past.

Ten pounds gained and a heart emptied, April 3rd draws nearer and the months that follow pile up with plans. Time that was once so seemingly lifeless now begins to take shape into a schedule, a place to be, hoops appear. And I sing.

I was a free man in Paris, I felt unfettered and alive…

Waiting to be born again, I sing to soothe my journey. I sing and sometimes sigh. I’ve said goodbye, and not said goodbye, and strangely enough I’ve also said hello. And I sing. Boxes appear and suitcases open. And I sing.

Hit the road Jack, and don’tcha come back…

15 pounds on and the drawers are now barren. A plate breaks and I sing. A soul crosses, another fights, and I’m reminded that this day cannot be relived. And I sing.

I am changing…

I’m bewildered by new lights and I’m finally feeling the fear knowing that I have to change my gaze from the old. And I sing. I draw deep breath and climb the scale, reaching for new heights. I tumble and drop, scoop and soar and I’m reminded that I’m alive. Each song becomes the soundtrack to these days of transition and flow. I’m bewildered and yes, still, I sing. Dustballs and plastic bags are my audience.

I’ve been so many places in my life and time…


17 pounds on and no cigarettes…but plenty of wine. I sit waiting, not moving much, for my shoulders each carry an elephant. But still I push and I roar with two lungs and a torso of muscle and 17 extra pounds. I sing my hymns.h

These vagabond shoes, are longing to stray…

…and my own voice creates the soundtrack of goodbye.


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    you make me smilethank you

  2. dinazad says:

    Does this surprise you? Music, song and dance belong to the most powerful things humanity has at its disposal to get through the changes, joys and hardships of life. What better way to accept change joyfully (besides, singing takes up less space than dancing….)?As for the 17 extra pounds: now that you are slowly cutting off the roots which connect you to your present home and haven’t let down new ones yet – well of course you need a bit of weight to hold you down, or you’d just be blown about by fate like thistledown (a pretty but hardly enviable existence)! So keep centered, upright and singing!

  3. marlen says:

    kim – awwww, thanks!

  4. marlen says:

    dinazad – thanks for the warm and thoughtful advice! Singing is serving as a great release of energy and emotion these days!

Leave a Reply

