Stuck


Dear D-chan,

Today I put on the ring I used to wear when we were together. I wear it and think of you and start to really mourn my separation. I think to myself, “Boy that ring sure did just slip right back onto that finger.” I feel funny wearing it for a moment and decide to remove it. I can’t. It won’t come off.

I watched our show last night and felt strange not watching it with you.

The ring won’t come off and so I find that funny, almost. I wonder if it’s remarkable. I go to the bathroom and run my finger under water still warm though I know I changed the setting to cold at least 30 seconds ago. I wait…and the ring won’t come off.

It’s difficult to find the finished line, I really don’t want to be a runner.

The water changes to cold and yet the ring is still fighting with a vengeance, it shall not be removed. I reach for the friggin soap and start lathering my hands, and only now that I’ve truly washed them does the ring slide off.

I’ve washed my hands of it.

But I decide to put it back on after it’s now been removed and think I just need to find a smaller finger, it won’t fit anymore on the original digit. I accidentally on purpose put it back onto the same finger it had just gotten stuck on.

One of us turning around, one in mid-air…

The ring is now on the right pinky finger. Hope you arrived home safely, sorry to make our goodbye so short, but I’m not sure I coulda handled long.

M

Stuck


Dear D-chan,

Today I put on the ring I used to wear when we were together. I wear it and think of you and start to really mourn my separation. I think to myself, “Boy that ring sure did just slip right back onto that finger.” I feel funny wearing it for a moment and decide to remove it. I can’t. It won’t come off.

I watched our show last night and felt strange not watching it with you.

The ring won’t come off and so I find that funny, almost. I wonder if it’s remarkable. I go to the bathroom and run my finger under water still warm though I know I changed the setting to cold at least 30 seconds ago. I wait…and the ring won’t come off.

It’s difficult to find the finished line, I really don’t want to be a runner.

The water changes to cold and yet the ring is still fighting with a vengeance, it shall not be removed. I reach for the friggin soap and start lathering my hands, and only now that I’ve truly washed them does the ring slide off.

I’ve washed my hands of it.

But I decide to put it back on after it’s now been removed and think I just need to find a smaller finger, it won’t fit anymore on the original digit. I accidentally on purpose put it back onto the same finger it had just gotten stuck on.

One of us turning around, one in mid-air…

The ring is now on the right pinky finger. Hope you arrived home safely, sorry to make our goodbye so short, but I’m not sure I coulda handled long.

M

One Comment Add yours

  1. Gail says:

    Rings, such potent symbols. When my marriage was breaking up I would alternately throw my ring at brick walls, or attempt to wear it on other “non-identifying” fingers with other rings to mask it’s obvious function.Now that I’m happily alone. I look at my ring and the charge that once was enough to stop my day’s functioning for a few minutes is gone. It’s again just simply ring, a momento of a life that was always inappropriate but for personal reasons on both sides, inevitable for a while.I love this blog Marlen. I thoroughly enjoy reading about your inner world. Gail

Leave a Reply

