Acceptance

on


Ok, so it’s been a while since I’ve posted. Instead, I decided to ponder what my next entry would be and to choose wisely. As week after week passed, the world in which I existed slowly changed. No longer a part of the old world I once felt adapted to, I’ve had to re-create a home for myself here in the states. I’ve had to accept the fact that I won’t be returning to Japan any time soon. I’ve had to accept the fact that I’ve entered a new phase, one of transition and waiting. But what’s been most startling, is how welcome I’ve felt at home, and I think it has to do with being accepted, as my friend Catherine would say, on a soul level.

During the first three weeks of my return, an image of myself emerged – that of a lucky young man; cared for, nurtured, and with endless stories. Moreover, a new image of my parents also emerged, my father taking on a role I never expected, but should have known he would play. I’ve seen that my family cares about me, despite the fact they don’t always show their care in a way that is obvious to me, or in the exact manner in which I would like. It certainly is a long-term process, learning to accept love in any form without first judging it.

And when I wonder how it is my family can bring themselves so fully to our relationships, or perhaps it’s more a matter of my finally seeing things differently, I realize that I am accepted, on that soul level, as a human being, as a son, and as a friend.

I watch how my father acts around me when in the company of friends and acquaintances, and I sense that he has accepted me and can be comfortable with who I am, and that is a very great accomplishment, indeed.

So it’s true – I’m a lucky person; I’m lucky to be accepted by those closest to me which no doubt is an act of love that keeps on flowing.

*Image from EclecticEnergies.com

Acceptance

on


Ok, so it’s been a while since I’ve posted. Instead, I decided to ponder what my next entry would be and to choose wisely. As week after week passed, the world in which I existed slowly changed. No longer a part of the old world I once felt adapted to, I’ve had to re-create a home for myself here in the states. I’ve had to accept the fact that I won’t be returning to Japan any time soon. I’ve had to accept the fact that I’ve entered a new phase, one of transition and waiting. But what’s been most startling, is how welcome I’ve felt at home, and I think it has to do with being accepted, as my friend Catherine would say, on a soul level.

During the first three weeks of my return, an image of myself emerged – that of a lucky young man; cared for, nurtured, and with endless stories. Moreover, a new image of my parents also emerged, my father taking on a role I never expected, but should have known he would play. I’ve seen that my family cares about me, despite the fact they don’t always show their care in a way that is obvious to me, or in the exact manner in which I would like. It certainly is a long-term process, learning to accept love in any form without first judging it.

And when I wonder how it is my family can bring themselves so fully to our relationships, or perhaps it’s more a matter of my finally seeing things differently, I realize that I am accepted, on that soul level, as a human being, as a son, and as a friend.

I watch how my father acts around me when in the company of friends and acquaintances, and I sense that he has accepted me and can be comfortable with who I am, and that is a very great accomplishment, indeed.

So it’s true – I’m a lucky person; I’m lucky to be accepted by those closest to me which no doubt is an act of love that keeps on flowing.

*Image from EclecticEnergies.com

One Comment Add yours

  1. Renata says:

    Hi there, I got to your blog from the Learner Development JALT SIG email, and have enjoyed reading about perfumes and your love of scents. I’m really into essential oils, but kinda sniff and mix to match my mood without having a clue how to verbalize it the way you do. Fascinating read!Anyway then I landed here, and was really touched by your words ‘learning to accept love in any form without judging it first’. Definitely. A kind of only on my terms thing, or rather moving away from that, but for me how does it nourish if at some point it doesn’t really sink in the way it needs to? Or does that mean i’m still not accepting? Deep, unresolved, but thank you for your post.

Leave a Reply

