The English Teacher: About these stories

So you've been reading some of the stories from The English Teacher and no doubt wondering, "What's this nonsense, then?" In short, I'm still not sure. I wrote stories inspired by my experiences throughout my time in Japan (2002-2006) and Pennsylvania (2006-2010) and now that I'm in Finland, there are even more stories to share and everything revolves around my profession as a teacher of English in one way or another. Though I think of the writing as comprising three books, one for each of the countries I lived in while teaching, I'm not sure the grander story is actually a novel. Maybe it is just a collection of stories? Maybe the beginnings of a television script? Who can tell…I've not seen that far down the road just yet.

Though I write professionally and academically, the kind of narrative writing in The English Teacher is what I love best – playing with words, memories, emotions, etc. The stories are presented in random order and I am constantly revising and writing new ones as well. Most are true and some are exaggerated. All names have been changed to protect the implicated.

The stories speak of my personal growth and development, my struggles and triumphs as both a language learner and ex-patriate and most of all, my travels and adventures as that guy often referred to as simply, The English Teacher.

The English Teacher: About these stories

So you've been reading some of the stories from The English Teacher and no doubt wondering, "What's this nonsense, then?" In short, I'm still not sure. I wrote stories inspired by my experiences throughout my time in Japan (2002-2006) and Pennsylvania (2006-2010) and now that I'm in Finland, there are even more stories to share and everything revolves around my profession as a teacher of English in one way or another. Though I think of the writing as comprising three books, one for each of the countries I lived in while teaching, I'm not sure the grander story is actually a novel. Maybe it is just a collection of stories? Maybe the beginnings of a television script? Who can tell…I've not seen that far down the road just yet.

Though I write professionally and academically, the kind of narrative writing in The English Teacher is what I love best – playing with words, memories, emotions, etc. The stories are presented in random order and I am constantly revising and writing new ones as well. Most are true and some are exaggerated. All names have been changed to protect the implicated.

The stories speak of my personal growth and development, my struggles and triumphs as both a language learner and ex-patriate and most of all, my travels and adventures as that guy often referred to as simply, The English Teacher.

Leave a Reply

